top of page
Buscar

ANDAKT 2024 interview

The first album was finnaly released last 1st of February in CD and cassette and I asked some questions to Savarak.





BRZ – Here I am again to ask you some questions, this time about your new album "Ritual of Angzhar". And the first question is, what ritual is this?

Savarak - Thanks again for this interview. The name «Ritual of Angzhar» means Ritual of Anxiety, and the ritual is based upon when I had an anxiety seizure a couple of years ago. During the seizures I wrote insane lyrics, and the lyrics of the song «sjelevandrer» was written during my worst seizure. None of the lyrics makes sense, but for me it makes all sense. The album cover drawn by Grafithamu and reflects the exact feelings I had. I was in a state of darkness, and the during the nights with countless hours of insomnia, the bonfire visualized in my head and out came the devils.


BRZ - In the last interview and on the Facebook page, this band was just a project at the time. Is it still your project or are you already thinking of this band as something that will continue?

Savarak - Interesting you should mention that, because I’m already gathering my weaponry and ammunition for a live line up. Andakt has a debut concert 25.05.24 which will take place at Revolver Pub in Oslo. It will feature members of other Black Metal acts and will be a concert you don’t want to miss.


BRZ - Is this new album conceptual or are several themes covered?

Savarak – Actually, both. It’s based upon the same theme, but it features some old ideas musically. “Witchery of The Warlock” is an old song with new lyrics fit for the album.


BRZ - It's always difficult for who doesn’t know, to assimilate the way an album by a one-man band, is recorded. How do you make recordings, given that your music has great sound complexity?

Savarak - All the guitars, bass and vocals are recorded in my home studio. The drums are programmed, I’m not ashamed of telling it to the public. I did not have the time, or place to record acoustic drums so that was the easiest way to do it. The intro is made by Kjetil Ytterhus, member of Profane Burial and my side project Babels Tårn.


BRZ - Your inspiration comes from many Norwegian Black Metal bands and the various types of vocalizations heard on the album, in some way, pay tribute to some well-known voices of the genre. I'm talking, for example, about the very Attila (The True Mayhem) vocalization you do in the song "Witchery of the Warlock". Is it intentional or just the type of vocalization you imagine for each track?

Savarak - I’m inspired by many genres and bands. One of my all-time favorite bands are Iron Maiden, and Bruce Dickinson has made his mark in me during the years. King diamond, Judas Priest, Hammerfall, Pantera many of the old school heavy metal bands has great voices that inspire me quite alot.


BRZ - The album was released in digital format on May 21, 2023, but it was only on February 1 of this year that it was released physically by Cold Northern Breeze Records. This was due to what?

Savarak - I don’t rush things, I wait for the right time. I had a deal with Axel from CNB that he would release my debut on CD Digipak somewhere in early 2024. Daniel Andrè Bjørndalen also made 20x limited edition cassettes through his own company Blodbuse Teip Trøkk. So it’s two physical releases.


BRZ - In addition to this band, you also play in two others, Babels Tårn who also released their first album this year and Raumer, whose second EP I have and which I also really liked. When it comes to bands of the same genre, how do you know that a song is for one of them and not for the others?

Savarak - With Babels Tårn I’ve a cooperation with Kjetil Ytterhus from Profane Burial, where he makes all the symphonies and orchestra, so we work together and blending my riffs with his orchestral magic or the other way. Together it makes a pretty tight combo. And to mention: He also made the intro «Calling upon The Dark Spirits» the intro of Ritual of Angzhar. About Raumer, Odin is the creator of the riffs, I’m more like the man who directs his visions and together we can cook together a finesse of old school black metal. Andakt is the project where I did all things myself.


BRZ - What is your composition method and how do you manage your time with other family tasks and work?

Savarak - Good question. Storm is my three year old son and is my true motivation for everything I do in this life. Without him I really don’t know if I would be alive today to be honest. I’ve had my share of suicidal thoughts and moments. When he came to life, everything changed. I gained a completely new perspective. When it comes to work, I work as an independent carpenter with my father in law (aka the grandfather of Storm). So I’ve my family close which also helps the motivation alot. I spend the evenings composing, digital artwork, logo designs, videos related to music etc. Let’s say I’m a creative human being.


BRZ - Do you usually go to concerts and festivals in Norway? Is it in these places that you meet other metalheads and other bands? What is the best metal festival in Norway?

Savarak - I used to attend many concerts and festivals before I became a father. I miss it, but it’ll come back some day anyway. Social media is where things work, mostly.

 

I think Inferno Metalfestival must be the best so far.

 

BRZ - Now that you've released this album, are you starting to prepare another one or are you working on other bands as well?

Savarak - The second album is already planned in my head before the debut was released. But this time I will not do it alone. I’ve brought someone aboard which will be very helpful in the future of Andakt. This person will be announced soon.


BRZ - How do you see this interest from Black Metal fans from all over the world in Norway scene? Do you think it has to do exclusively with what happened in the early 90s or do you think they would be interested in it if those events didn't happen?

Savarak - Black Metal would not have been the same without the important milestones during the 90’s. But we don’t see anymore church burnings in Norway, murders related to Black Metal or other such acts. The way I see it: Black Metal is all about breaking the rules (of everything). To do this, you’ll need to step out of the everlasting drain of Copy/paste. There are a few bands that really peeks out and reaches far these days, and they create Black Metal with passion and hate! 

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
Black Reich Zine 2021.png
bottom of page